NFL Countdown: American Professional Football Association is formed

NFL Countdown: American Professional Football Association is formed

We all be aware of what the NFL is now. A world juggernaut really worth billions upon billions. Players get paid astrominical wages, there are sponsors and the entirety in between.

But for contemporary NFL Countdown piece, we go way again to 1920, to when the American Professional Football Association was once formed. The assembly that was once held to set up the league occurred on August 20, 1920, and representatives named the new league – the American Professional Football Conference.

They additionally put in a income cap for every crew and there used to be additionally an settlement no longer to signal university gamers alongside with different gamers from rival teams.

There have been 14 groups for the inaugural APFA season. They were:

Akron Pros, Buffalo All-Americans, Canton Bulldogs, Chicago Cardinals, Chicago Tigers, Cleveland Tigers, Columbus Panhandles, Dayton Triangles, Decatur Staleys, Detroit Heralds, Hammond Pros, Muncie Flyers, Rochester Jeffersons, Rock Island Independents

The first APFA season

The first-ever sport involving an APFA group used to be between the Rock Island Independents and the St. Paul Ideals. Unfortunately, the sport used to be instead underwhelming and it left many thinking about the validity of the league.

100 years ago today, September 17, 1920, the American Professional Football Association (APFA) was formed in Canton, Ohio, when representatives of ten Midwestern football clubs gathered. Two years later, it was renamed the National Football League (NFL).

— Bill Lucey (@wplucey) September 17, 2020

The Independents soundly beat St. Paul 48-0. This used to be no longer the solely lop-sided recreation in the season. In Week 2, there had been seven video games performed and out of them, six have been shutouts.

Three of the video games had been received with the aid of a margin of 40+ factors with West Buffalo the solely journeying crew to rating as they managed six factors in a 32-6 loss to the Buffalo All-Americans.

Who was champion?

Back then, there was once no playoff structure and many did no longer be aware of how to crown a champion. The Akron Pros had the first-class file in the league as they did not lose a sport all season (8-0-3) and solely allowed seven factors in their 14 games.So there used to be a assembly to determine who would be topped champions of the 1920 season. Despite the Decatur Staleys (10 wins) and the Buffalo All-Americans (nine wins) triumphing extra games, the reality that the Pros did no longer lose a recreation swayed the vote. They have been given the Brunswick-Balke Collender Cup.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.